The classroom concert 2013/11/26

26 Nov

snapshot20120614205646

On the 26th of November Sofia woke up covered in snow. It’s a rare sight to see snowfall so early in the year, especially when just the other day the temperatures weren’t dropping below 15 degrees Celsius. I read the forecast everyday and when I saw “chance of snow” last night I wasn’t expecting much but a few snowflakes to be honest. Fortunately enough, I was wrong in my predictions, but it seems the sheer thought of snowing was embedded in my mind, because the dream I had that night included the very same forecast I read yesterday.

And again, on the topic of Sofia, it was announced that Aerosmith included it in their European tour next year. I’m not particularly a fan of Aerosmith, but the announcement being everywhere in the news and on the web it was hard to miss it.

And so I dreamt about the upcoming concert of Aerosmith and, oddly enough, the show was set to be in… a classroom. A rather small classroom, like those they use for the kids in 1st grade, with even smaller desks (the desks were somewhat absent though, save for one in the middle of the room, which was supposed to represent the “front of stage” area and had limited amount of seats – namely 5 or 6 chairs placed around it) and many color pencil doodles and water-paint drawings pinned on the walls. The artists were supposed to play from the teacher’s desk. Even their gear was set up there.

When I arrived at the “stage” there were still very few people present and had already taken seats. I saw a few empty chairs on the back of the classroom, but just when I tried to take one of them, an ex-colleague from my university waved at me and told me they were occupied and I am supposed to buy a ticket to take a sit. When I looked around, on my right there was another desk where presumably the so-called tickets were sold. I headed for there and waited for my turn to come, while looking at the prices and then at my wallet. It seemed like my assets were enough only for the cheapest area – a standing ticket in the back of the hall. After the purchase I was told I could also stand outside and only then did I see the sliding door on the back of the room. It was like going out on a terrace, only there was no parapet and the space was much wider. It was actually on par with a normal backyard. That was where all the desks seems to have “vanished”. There were also more chairs scattered on random places, most of which already occupied. But I didn’t even for a minute think about the offer of standing outside, since the forecast said there were chances of snow; besides, it was already getting dark outside, so I immediately went back in the classroom and managed to squeeze between two seats and lean on the wall on the back of the room.

I was planning to spend the rest of the night in this perfect viewing spot until I noticed, as more people flooded the classroom (and most of them with “standing” tickets) it wasn’t as perfect as it seemed. Hell, now I started to wonder how those seated in the back could even see what’s happening on the stage. I then moved in front and stood behind the seats of the 6 V.I.P.s with “front of stage” tickets et voilà, the concert began. People started shouting, jumping and clapping as Aerosmith appeared on stage… but wait, wasn’t Aerosmith’s frontman a… a man? Waitwaitwaitwait, no, seriously? So uh… are we all a part of some sort of a big scam? Hey! They took my money! @#*%^#& Phew, thank God at least I didn’t buy one of the expensive tickets. Hmm.. Well, I already gave my money, so the least I could do is watch. All the others didn’t seem to notice anything wrong and the rest of the Aerosmith crew were the same too. So.. the lead singer of Aerosmith was this chick in the electric green dress? There was some text scripted from top to bottom on it and when I leaned closer it was song lyrics. One of Aerosmith’s songs that is, but I can’t recall which one. Anyway, my deep conscience most likely disapproved this turn of events (and I didn’t stay for the encore), because shortly after the dream wagon jumped into another dream.

Leave a comment